Ten Spartans earn All-MVC honors

From left: Vince Polhamus, Jon Bailey, Brett Von Ruden and Hayden Krein

Ten Spartan wrestlers earned All-MVC honors for the 2016-17 season.  Vince Polhamus, Jon Bailey, Brett Von Ruden and Hayden Krein all earned first team honors while Blake Brooks, Jaden Winchel, Matt Fahning and Austin Zwiefel earned second team honors.  Kyle Erickson and David Hayes were honorable mention All-MVC.

For Jon Bailey, Brett Von Ruden and Hayden Krein, this is the second time each have earned first team honors.

Senior Jaden Winchel finished his high school career 23-0 with 15 pins in MVC action yet was only a three-time 1st team award winner.  He was 1st Team All-MVC his first three years and finished second as a senior.  Central’s Jaden Van Maanen earned the 145-pound 1st team honor this season despite wrestling five of six matches at 152 pounds.  His one other match was at 145.  Likewise, Winchel wrestled every match at 145 except for one at 152 pounds.  Conference bylaws dictate that a wrestler need only wrestle one match at one weight class to earn consideration at that weight class.  Always tough to see a guy go 23-0 over four years without much competition and not earn all-conference all four years, but the rules are the rules.

Click here to see the full list of 2016-17 MVC All-Conference award winners.

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!