Stats Updated

The stats pages have been updated to include the 2010-2011 season.  Everything from coaching records, individual spartan statistics, team stats and MVC records have been updated.  Here are some historical numbers from the conclusion of the 2010-11 season…

  • This was the 11th straight year a Spartan has qualified for state.  This breaks the previous record of 10 straight seasons from 1987-88 through 1996-97.
  • Coach Jake Larsen has a dual record of 42-6 through three seasons.
  • Morgan Leis and Tom Tourdot cracked the 100-win mark for their careers this past season. Morgan finished his career with 114 wins and Tom with 113 wins.
  • Despite missing nearly an entire season due to injury, Nick Winchel finished his Spartan career with 226 takedowns, which is good for 10th all-time. Morgan Leis finished his career with 294 takedowns, which ranks 4th all-time.
  • Tom Tourdot cracked the 15-pin-in-a-season mark with 17 pins.
  • Nick Winchel finished the 2010-11 season with 102 takedowns.  Only five Spartan wrestlers have cracked the 100-takedown mark for a season and Nick’s 102 takedowns was good enough for 4th all-time.  Toby Mosley finished the season with 75 takedowns, which puts him at 20th all-time.
  • Tom Tourdot’s 42 wins was the 12th time a Spartan wrestler has finished with 40 or more wins in a season.  His 42 wins was good enough for third all-time.
  • Nick Winchel, Derek VonRuden, Toby Mosley, Morgan Leis and Tristan Zurfluh cracked the 30-win mark this past year.

And now for some MVC-related history…

  • Central’s Cal Thornton became only the 13th wrestler in MVC history to finish as a three-time champion or first team member.  He did it at 125 pounds in 2009, 130 pounds in 2010 and 135 pounds in 2011.
  • Michael Keilen (Central), Kyle McKenzie (Logan), Tyler Von Haden (Tomah) and James Bennett (Holmen) became two-time MVC champions or first-team members this year.
  • Sparta won it’s second straight MVC championship.  Since 2003-04, only Sparta and Tomah have claimed the MVC title.  Sparta won it in 2003-04 then Tomah rattled off six straight championships before Sparta took back the crown the past two seasons.
  • Onalaska has not won a conference dual meet since the 2003-04 season.
  • Over the 21 year history of the MVC, Holmen tops all teams with a record of 97-27.  Sparta comes in second with a record of 91-33 followed by Tomah at 84-40, Aquinas at 37-45, Central at 54-69-1, Logan at 46-78 and Onalaska at 5-118-1.
  • Over the 21 year history of the MVC, Holmen leads all teams with most conference champions/1st team members at 70.  Tomah is second with 58, Sparta third at 50, Central at 32, Logan at 31, Aquinas at 22 and Onalaska at 6.

Barring a complete collapse by Holmen next year, we should see the Vikings surpass the 100-wins in the MVC midway through next season while Spartan coach Jake Larsen should top 50 wins in his time at Sparta.

To check out the newly updated stats, check out the stats link at the top of the page or click on the links below…

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!