Spartans dominate Aquinas 67-6


From left: Brett Von Ruden, Hayden Krein and Matt Fahning all picked up first period pins against Aquinas.

Not since the 2005-06 season have the Spartans lost to a La Crosse school and this year’s Spartans ensured that streak would at least continue into 2017 after a 67-6 dismantling of La Crosse Aquinas this past Thursday night at Aquinas.

The Spartans own a 23-4 all-time record against the Blugolds and have won 11 straight since a 40-30 loss during the 2005-06 season.  This year there was no doubt as the Spartans won 12 of 14 including six by forfeit and four by pin.

Winning by forfeit for the Spartans was Austin Zweifel, Blake Brooks, Jakob Larson, Jon Bailey, Jaden Winchel and James Gann.  Winning by pin for the Spartans were Kyle Erickson, Brett Von Ruden, Hayden Krein and Matt Fahning.  Full match results are below…

195  –  Austin Zweifel won by forfeit
220  –  Jack Horihan (Aquinas) defeated Garet Pfaff 5-4
285  –  Bryce Lee (Aquinas) defeated Noah Benish 3-2
106  –  Blake Brooks won by forfeit
113  –  Jakob Larson won by forfeit
120  –  Jon Bailey won by forfeit
126  –  Thomas Treu won by major decision over Carson Haag (Aquinas) 14-6
132  –  Kyle Erickson pinned Albert Flottmeyer (Aquinas) in 2:46
138  –  David Hayes defeated Max Michel (Aquinas) 6-2
145  –  Jaden Winchel won by forfeit
152  –  Brett Von Ruden pinned Nick Herlitzka (Aquinas) in 0:33
160  –  Hayden Krein pinned Nick Cambio (Aquinas) in 1:27
170  –  Matt Fahning pinned Peter Riley (Aquinas) in 1:43
182  –  James Gann won by forfeit
FINAL:  Sparta 67  –  Aquinas 6

The victory improves Sparta’s dual record to 2-0 overall and 1-0 in the MVC.  Sparta is back in action Thursday at home against La Crosse Logan.  Good luck Spartans!

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!