Rickert, Dolan Honorable Mention All-Conference

In a move driven by rules more perplexing than the myriad of calls leveled against Sparta at the end of their dual against Tomah in 2000, State placewinners Jared Rickert (3rd) and Jeff Dolan (5th) have received honorable mention awards from the MVC despite defeating every conference opponent they faced this year.  The reason for the ruling was that they split time between weight classes, although it seems odd that the rules would not take into account that they did so at times to give the team a more favorable matchup in the duals.  It’s a change in the rules.  The old rules where the tournament season held as much or more sway seems more appropriate.

So, here is the rundown for Conference awards as dictated by the MVC:

1st Team – Matt Tourdot, Michael Jacobsen, Trevor Hutson, Quincy Degenhardt
2nd Team – Jenna Ahnen
Honorable Mention – Jared Rickert, Jeff Dolan

Congrats to all Spartans on their awards…..

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!