Five Spartans named to 1st Team, Larsen Coach of the Year


State runner-up Brock Polhamus earned his first All-MVC first-team honor while Coach Jake Larsen won Coach of the Year honors.

Five Spartans were named 1st Team All-Confrence today.  John Roddick, Jaden Winchel, Brock Polhamus, Dylan Winchel and Logan Degenhardt all received top honors in the conference.  The five matches a team record set during the 1992-93, 1993-94, 2002-03, 2003-04 and 2006-07 seasons. Receiving Second Team honors was Walker Polhamus while honorable mention honors went to Christian Lamon and Logan VanTassel.  Of the eight receiving honors, six return for next season.

Spartan head coach Jake Larsen received Coach of the Year honors while Central’s Ben Thornton was named Wrestler of the Year.

If you look at the weight classes among the first and second team and some of the weight classes of the honorable mentions, you’ll notice something.  There are a lot of school names right next to each other.  Central has 106 through 113 locked down on the first team, Sparta 126 through 145 and Tomah 182 and 195 while Holmen has three of the final four weight classes on the second team.  This is a pretty clear indication of how important practice partners are.  The harder you are pushed and the better caliber wrestler you face every day in practice goes a long way toward determining how you are going to perform when you face live competition.

For Dylan Winchel and John Roddick, this is their second All-MVC First Team honor.  For everyone else, it is their first time receiving the honors.  Freshman Jaden Winchel is the first Spartan to earn All-MVC first team honors as a freshman.  With his fourth All-MVC honor, Thornton joins fellow Central alum Eric Jetton and Tomah’s Tyler Laudon as the only four-time MVC champions.  Hunter Hauser became the 16th three-time MVC champion.

I’ll have another post recapping the final day at state, the season and more coming this week.  In the meantime, let’s look at the full roster of All-MVC award winners for the 2013-14 season.


John Roddick earned 1st Team All MVC honors for the second time this season.

1st Team All-Conference

  • 106  –  Jaden VanMaanen, Central
  • 113  –  Josh Kuhse, Central
  • 120  –  Ben Thornton, Central
  • 126  –  John Roddick, Sparta
  • 132  –  Jaden Winchel, Sparta
  • 138  –  Brock Polhamus, Sparta
  • 145  –  Dylan Winchel, Sparta
  • 152  –  Scott Ring, Aquinas
  • 160  –  Ben Linzmeier, Tomah
  • 170  –  Duncan McKinney, Holmen
  • 182  –  Seth Fryett, Tomah
  • 195  –  Jordan Reisinger, Tomah
  • 220  –  Logan Degenhardt, Sparta
  • 285  –  Hunter Hauser, Holmen

2nd Team All-Conference

  • 106  –  Drake Kulmaczewski, Holmen
  • 113  –  Nick Burns, Aquinas
  • 120  –  Nick Houlihan, Logan
  • 126  –  Hunter Pierce, Tomah
  • 132  –  Jordan Corcoran, Aquinas
  • 138  –  Ryan Stalsberg, Holmen


    Jaden Winchel is the first freshman Spartan to medal at state and is the first freshman to earn 1st Team All MVC for the Spartans.

  • 145  –  Conner Williams, Central
  • 152  –  Collen Samson, Tomah
  • 160  –  Konrad Ernst, Onalaska
  • 170  –  Walker Polhamus, Sparta
  • 182  –  Jacon Wiemerslage, Holmen
  • 195  –  Noah Risch, Holmen
  • 220  –  Calvin Wright, Logan
  • 285  –  Charles Serauskas, Holmen

Honorable Mention All-Conference

  • Aquinas  –  Emil Walleser, Charlie Fuchsel
  • Holmen  –  Ryan Bennett, Logan Lasack
  • Tomah  –  Logan Pollack, Casey Curran
  • Sparta  –  Christian Lamon, Logan Vantassel
  • Central  –  Jake Obert
  • Onalaska  –  Morgan Mueller, Cameron Robbert, Tyler Wood
  • Logan  –  Adam Bergeron, Cody Larson

Final Standings

  1. Sparta 6-0
  2. Holmen 5-1
  3. Aquinas 3-3
  4. Logan 3-3
  5. Tomah 3-3
  6. Central 1-5
  7. Onalaska 0-6
Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!