Tourdot earns Outstanding Wrestler Award, Sparta runs away with team title

Sparta won their fourth invitational of the year Saturday at the Rochester Century Invitational.  Sparta’s 219.5 points were 49.5 points better than runner-up Eagan’s 170 points.  Helping in Sparta’s change of fortunes against Eagan this year were Adam Weidl, Jordan Stanek and Matt Tourdot who all brought home individual titles.  For his performance Saturday, Tourdot earned Most Outstanding Wrestling honors for the tournament.  Last year, the Spartans were nine points back of Eagan and placed 2nd as a team.

At 112 pounds, Adam Weidl won by technical fall in the finals by a score of 15-0 over St. Claire/Mankato Loyola’s Ben Johnson.  At 189 pounds, Jordan Stanek won a close 4-3 decision over Jacob Lueck of Eagan while at 215 pounds, Matt Tourdot made quick work of Eagan’s Mitch Johnson winning by fall in 58 seconds.

Other top four placewinners for the Spartans included Bryce Nowaczyk (3rd), Brandon Rickert (2nd), Nick Winchel (2nd), Derek VonRuden (2nd), Jesse Amundson (3rd), Nick Anderson (4th), Morgan Leis (3rd) and Brandon Brueggen (3rd).  If you count that all up, there were six Spartan wrestlers in the finals Saturday.

Sparta now prepares for their last MVC match of the year at Tomah on Tuesday.  The Timberwolves have not lost an in-conference dual since the 2003-04 season.  That’s 36 conference victories in a row and the Spartans aim to end that streak Tuesday evening.

Check back here later today for a breakdown of Tomah’s wrestlers and how they have fared this season.


Rochester Century Panther Invite
1. Sparta (WI) 219.5
2. Eagan 170
3. Saint Clair/Mankato Loyola 161
4. Cannon Falls/Randolph 134
5. Southland 125
6. Rochester Century 122
7. Rochester John Marshall 59
8. LaCrescent 54

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!