Sparta reserves wrestle at Lee Griffin Invite

Ten Spartan wrestlers who primarily spend their time wrestling on JV with some moonlighting on varsity wrestled a few weeks ago at the Lee Griffin Invite in Kickapoo.  The Spartans were wrestling against other varsity programs and finished 10th out of 12 teams while beating the Melrose-Mindoro-G.E.T. reserves and North Crawford/Seneca.  Despite wrestling in only 10 of the 14 weight classes, the Spartans only finished four points back of Onalaska.

The Spartans were led by Michael Beeler who finished second to Aquinas’ Lucas Shappell.  If you recall, Shappell took Sparta’s Tom Tourdot to triple overtime and won.  Other placewinners for the Spartans included Jacob Denton (3rd) and Robert Ragan (4th).

For full match-by-match results from the Lee Griffin Invite, click here.  Here are summarized results from the day…

103  —  Sarah Schmitz, Did Not Place, 0-2
112  —  Matt Arnold, Did Not Place, 0-2
119  —  Steven Kelly, Did Not Place, 1-2
125  —  Jacob Denton, 3rd Place, 4-1 with two pins and a major decision
145  —  Robert Ragan, 4th Place, 3-2 with three pins
152  —  Greg Skon, Did Not Place, 1-2
160  —  Daniel Dawley, Did Not Place, 1-2 with a pin
171  —  Ben Schaitel, Did Not Place, 2-2 with a pin
189  —  Chase Bernett, Did Not Place, 1-2 with a pin
215  —  Michael Beeler, 2nd Place, 2-1 with two pins

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!