Sparta in control at Viroqua

6:15pm —  Add Brandon Brueggen and Jordan Stanek to the list of individual champions for the Spartans.  Brueggen and Stanek won their weight classes to bring the total of sectional qualifiers to nine for Sparta with Matt Tourdot and Steve Stevenson still to wrestle.  Stevenson has the tougher road having to win his 3rd place match and then hoping for Taylor Henry to win in the finals to force a wrestleback for second against the 5th ranked wrestler in the state in Kit Conrad of Wisconsin Dells.  Matt Tourdot has Logan Schmitdt (26-7) of Richland Center in the finals.

On the team side of things, Sparta has pushed their lead over Adams-Friendship to 74 points with two weight classes remaining.  With Sparta clinching the team title and Lodi having an identical 74 point lead over Marshall with two weight classes remaining, it looks like Sparta will be facing off with Lodi in the opening round of team sectionals Tuesday night in Wisconsin Dells.

5:45pm —  Sparta has qualified seven wrestlers to sectionals through the 152 pound weight class.  Winning their brackets was Adam Wiedl, Brandon Rickert, Morgan Leis and Tom Tourdot.  Coming in second at their weights were Bryce Nowaczyk,  Toby Mosley and Derek VonRuden.  There are still five weight classes remaining and Sparta has wrestlers in the finals of three of them.

The biggest surprise of the day might have been Toby Mosley’s win by injury default over Jacob Volkey of Adams-Friendship.  Volkey was handled thoroughly in the semifinals by Mauston’s Colin Dolata.  Volkey appeared gassed and finished in the third period and was pinned by Dolata at the 5:46 mark.  He did not come out for his wrestleback match for second place giving Mosley the victory by injury default.  Volkey was the 2nd ranked wrestler at 125 pounds in division two according to Wisconsin Wrestling Online.  Needless to say this was a major surprise.

On the team side of things, Sparta has pushed their lead over Adams-Friendship to 71 points.

4:32pm —  Sparta leads Viroqua by 48 points with less than a round to go in this year’s WIAA division two regional in Viroqua.  In the finals for Sparta are Bryce Nowaczyk, Adam Wiedl, Brandon Rickert, Derek VonRuden, Morgan Leis, Tom Tourdot, Brandon Brueggen, Jordan Stanek and Matt Tourdot.  Picking up solid victories against higher seeded wrestlers was Nowaczyk, VonRuden and Tom Tourdot.

Both Tom Tourdot and Morgan Leis dropped weight classes with Tourdot going to 152 and Leis moving to 145 and it appears the moves are working in their favor so far.  Every Spartan won their first match with the exception of Jesse Amundson who was in a tight match before getting caught and pinned.  Only the top two in each weight class advance to the sectional tournament.  Check back here in just a little bit for full results from the day and final team scores.

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!