Badger State Invite updates…

6:2o pm —  Some final results are starting to trickle in from Madison.  Dylan Winchel won his 7th place match by 3-1 decision while Tristan Zurfluh lost a one-point decision in his 7th place match to finish 8th overall.  At 119, Bryce Nowaczyk was shutout 3-0 in his 7th place match.

At 125 pounds, Derek VonRuden took sixth after falling 9-2 in the 5th place match to Joe Crook of River Valley.  At 130 pounds, Nick Winchel brought home an individual title by defeating the sixth-ranked wrestler in division three in Jake Yelinek by a 9-2 score.  Congrats to Nick on the title.  More updates will be coming soon…

4:55 pm —  Sorry everyone for the lack of updates, but I just realized it was December 23rd and I had yet to go Christmas shopping.  I’m back now and here are some updates from Madison…

Owatonna, the third-ranked team in Class AAA in Minnesota (large schools), is running away when it comes to team scores.  Owatonna has 226 points followed by Sauk Prairie with 159, Campbellsport with 142 and the Spartans with 131 points in fourth place.

Individually, Nick Winchel and Tom Tourdot are heading to the finals.  Each are 3-0 on the day.  Winchel gets Iowa Grant’s Jake Yelinek who is 8-1 on the year as a junior in the finals.  Yelinek is ranked 6th in division three according to Wisconsin Wrestling Online.  Tourdot gets Owatonna’s Logan Barrett who is 8-0 on the year as a senior.  Barrett checks in as the 8th-ranked wrestler in Class AAA in Minnesota.

Morgan Leis lost a 1-0 decision at 152 pounds in the semifinals while Toby Mosley dropped a 6-2 decision in his semifinal.  At 285 pounds, Chris Beeler lost a close 5-3 decision in that semifinal.

12:oo pm —  Sparta has completed one round at the Badger State Invite and they find themselves in second place with 28 points behind Owatonna who leads the 17-team tournament with 32 points.  In third place with 27 points is Sauk Prairie and two points back in fourth place is Stoughton with 26 points.

The Spartans went 8-6 in the first round.  In those eight wins, Sparta picked up five pins and two major decisions.  The only match between Sparta and River Valley took place at 103 where Dylan Winchel dropped a 19-12 decision to Denver Hood.

Winners included Derek VonRuden, Nick Winchel, Paul VanTassel, Toby Mosley, Morgan Leis, Alex Hemmersbach, Tom Tourdot and Chris Beeler.  Kyle Burkhalter is in at 189 for Clinton LaBeause.

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!