Sparta edges Lancaster to win Lancaster Invite, JV just short against Black River Falls

Sparta came up big in their third place matches to keep host Lancaster at bay as they took home their fourth straight Lancaster Invite title. The Spartans finished with 326 points to Lancaster’s 295. Dubuque Walhert was third with 219.5 and Viroqua fourth with 203.5.

Sparta did not have any individual champions, but they did have nine wrestlers finish in the top three. Sparta was trailing Lancaster for most of the day until a strong consolation round put them ahead of the hosts and then winning six of nine third place matches sealed the deal.

Brock Polhamus, Kyle Burkhalter and Chris Beeler all met tough competition in their championship bouts. Polhamus was pinned by Lancaster’s Kyle Mezera in 1:14, Burkhalter was pinned in 5:26 by Fennimore’s Logan Chappell and Beeler dropped a 4-1 decision to Richland Center’s Logan Schmidt. Mezera is ranked third at 120 pounds in division three according to Wisconsin Wrestling Online, Chappell sixth in D3 at 182 and Schmidt 8th at 285.

Winning their third place matches for the Spartans were John Roddick, Tristan Zurfluh, Derek VonRuden, Paul Vantassel, Toby Mosley and Greg Skon. Coming in fourth were Dylan Winchel, Michael Murnane and Dan Dawley.  Summarized results are below…

106  —  Dylan Winchel, 4th place, 3-2 with two pins
113  —  John Roddick, 3rd place, 4-1 with a pin, tech fall and major decision
120  —  Brock Polhamus, 2nd Place, 3-1 with a pin
126  —  Tristan Zurfluh, 3rd Place, 4-1 with a major decision
132  —  Derek VonRuden, 3rd Place, 4-1 with two pins
138  —  Paul Vantassel, 3rd Place, 4-1 with a major decision
145  —  Michael Murnane, 4th Place, 3-2 with a tech fall
152  —  Toby Mosley, 3rd Place, 4-1 with a pin
160  —  Bob Ragan, 5th Place, 3-2 with a pin
170  —  Greg Skon, 3rd Place, 3-1 with a pin
182  —  Kyle Burkhalter, 2nd Place, 3-1 with two pins
195  —  Dan Dawley, 4th Place, 2-2 with a pin
220  —  Logan Degenhardt, 5th Place, 1-2 with a pin
285  —  Chris Beeler, 2nd Place, 3-1

For full match-by-match results, click here.

It was the fourth straight year the Spartans won the Lancaster Invite. There were a ton of byes today.  At 285, Chris Beeler received byes all the way into his semifinal match. The reason some of the records above are different for different wrestlers even if they received the same place is that in order for a bye to count as a win on the wrestler’s record, they must win the match following the bye. If they lose, the bye does not count as a win.

Also on Saturday, the varsity reserve wrestled a dual against Black River Falls and were leading until the final match before giving up a pin and losing 32-28. It was a solid effort for the varsity reserve. Results from that dual is below…

138  —  Julius Julson defeated David Stahl (BRF) 15-2
145  —  Matt McLinn (BRF) defeated Margo Degenhardt 8-7
152  —  Dillon Erickson pinned Jacob Peterson (BRF) 5:22
160  —  Duston Krapata-Ball (BRF) tech falled Lucas Peters 23-8, 6:00
182  —  Dillan Bunde (BRF) pinned Walker Polhamus 2:36
220  —  Chase Bernett pinned Kody Cleveland (BRF) 0:24
106  —  Justin Marx won by forfeit
113  —  Zak Marcellus won by forfeit
120  —  David Gorksi (BRF) pinned Steven Kelly 5:15
126  —  Brady Gartner (BRF) pinned Corey Bronner 1:00
132  —  Keith Dawley (BRF) pinned Austin Anderson 2:10

The Spartans are now off until Thursday when they wrestle Onalaska at home. JV wrestles at 6:15pm with the varsity following at 7:30pm. There will be no live blog for the Onalaska dual. The team championship today at Lancaster is the Spartans’ second team title of the year. They also took first at the Reedsburg Dual Invite. Congrats Spartans on a great day!

Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Let's Get In Touch!

Ready to start your next project with us? That's great! Give us a call or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!